Gluten-Free Foods

Gluten-Free Foods are foods that do not contain any gluten (for example Gluten-Free Pizzas). Gluten is typically defined as the cohesive, elastic protein that is left behind after starch is washed away from a wheat flour. Wheat contains the truest form of gluten which is in the form of gliadins and glutenins, although other grains like barley, rye, oats, millet, sorghum rice and corn also contain different forms of gluten.

Corn gluten is called "zien," millet's is called "panicinand," sorghum's is called "kafirin," rice's is called "orzenin," and each of these grains is considered to be a "gluten-free food" that is safe for those on a celiac disease diet. Additionally in recent years it has been determined that non-contaminated oats are not harmful to those with celiac disease, although it appears that there is a sub-set of people who do have an intolerance to avenin, the protein in oats, which produces symptoms that are very similar to those seen in celiac disease.

Rye contains a protein called "secalinin" and barley contain protein called "hordein," and these are not cosidered gluten free foods, and are not safe for those on a celiac disease diet.

Gluten-free foods, then, are foods that are free of wheat, rye, barley and their derivatives. All foods sold by The Gluten-Free Mall meet these criteria, and in addition we do not currently sell foods that contain oats.

For more information, please visit the author's Celiac Disease Information Site.